Skip to main content
Data Collection Framework - DCF


Regional Fisheries Management Organisation

Some important RFMOs for EU fisheries include:

  • NAFO - Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization (FAO 21); the NAFO Convention Area encompasses a large portion of the N Atlantic Ocean and includes the 200-mile zones of Coastal States jurisdiction (USA, Canada, St. Pierre et Miquelon and Greenland). NAFO’s Regulatory Area applies only to the areas straddling and outside the Exclusive Economic Zones.
  • ICCAT - International Commission for the Conservation of Atlantic Tunas (FAO 21, 27, 31, 34, 37, 41, 47 and 48); responsible for the conservation of tunas and tuna-like species in the Atlantic Ocean and adjacent seas.
  • IOTC - Indian Ocean Tuna Commission (FAO 51 and 57); responsible for the management of tuna and tuna-like species in the Indian Ocean
  • NEAFC - North-East Atlantic Fisheries Commission (FAO 27); established to manage the fishery resources in the NE Atlantic in the EEZs of Contracting Parties (straddling stocks) and outside the national jurisdictions of the coastal states.


See also: