Aller au contenu principal
Data Collection Framework - DCF


GSAs is the acronym of Geographical Sub-Areas. Res. GFCM/33/2009/2 Establishment of Geographical Sub-Areas in the GFCM area amending the Resolution GFCM/31/2007/2.


The Agreement for the establishment of the General Fisheries Commission for the Mediterranean  (GFCM), under the provisions of Article XIV of the FAO constitution, was approved by the FAO Conference in 1949 and entered into force in 1952.

Consisting of 23 Member countries along with the European Union, the GFCM’s objectives are to promote the development, conservation, rational management and best utilization of living marine resources, as well as the sustainable development of aquaculture in the Mediterranean, Black Sea and connecting waters.


For the DCF and EU-MAP data calls, the codes used are listed in the table below.
Please note that the code format is the following: SA[space]number

GFCM Geographical Sub-Areas (GSA) list
SA 1Northern Alboran Sea
SA 2Alboran Island
SA 3Southern Alboran Sea
SA 4Algeria
SA 5Balearic Island
SA 6Northern Spain
SA 7Gulf of Lions
SA 8Corsica Island
SA 9Ligurian and North Tyrrhenian Sea
SA 10South Tyrrhenian Sea
SA 11.1Sardinia (west)
SA 11.2Sardinia (east)
SA 12Northern Tunisia
SA 13Gulf of Hammamet
SA 14Gulf of Gabes
SA 15Malta Island
SA 16South of Sicily
SA 17Northern Adriatic
SA 18Southern Adriatic Sea
SA 19Western Ionian Sea
SA 20Eastern Ionian Sea
SA 21Southern Ionian Sea
SA 22Aegean Sea
SA 23Crete Island
SA 24North Levant
SA 25Cyprus Island
SA 26South Levant
SA 27Levant
SA 28Marmara Sea
SA 29Black Sea
SA 30Azov Sea

Please see also Fishing regions