Skip to main content
Data Collection Framework - DCF


GSAs is the acronym of Geographical Sub-Areas. Res. GFCM/33/2009/2 Establishment of Geographical Sub-Areas in the GFCM area amending the Resolution GFCM/31/2007/2.


The Agreement for the establishment of the General Fisheries Commission for the Mediterranean  (GFCM), under the provisions of Article XIV of the FAO constitution, was approved by the FAO Conference in 1949 and entered into force in 1952.

Consisting of 23 Member countries along with the European Union, the GFCM’s objectives are to promote the development, conservation, rational management and best utilization of living marine resources, as well as the sustainable development of aquaculture in the Mediterranean, Black Sea and connecting waters.


For the DCF and EU-MAP data calls, the codes used are listed in the table below.
Please note that the code format is the following: SA[space]number

GFCM Geographical Sub-Areas (GSA) list
Code Description
SA 1 Northern Alboran Sea
SA 2 Alboran Island
SA 3 Southern Alboran Sea
SA 4 Algeria
SA 5 Balearic Island
SA 6 Northern Spain
SA 7 Gulf of Lions
SA 8 Corsica Island
SA 9 Ligurian and North Tyrrhenian Sea
SA 10 South Tyrrhenian Sea
SA 11.1 Sardinia (west)
SA 11.2 Sardinia (east)
SA 12 Northern Tunisia
SA 13 Gulf of Hammamet
SA 14 Gulf of Gabes
SA 15 Malta Island
SA 16 South of Sicily
SA 17 Northern Adriatic
SA 18 Southern Adriatic Sea
SA 19 Western Ionian Sea
SA 20 Eastern Ionian Sea
SA 21 Southern Ionian Sea
SA 22 Aegean Sea
SA 23 Crete Island
SA 24 North Levant
SA 25 Cyprus Island
SA 26 South Levant
SA 27 Levant
SA 28 Marmara Sea
SA 29 Black Sea
SA 30 Azov Sea

Please see also Fishing regions